David Virelles – Mboko (2014) ECM Records

David Virelles

With ‘Mbókò’, Cuban pianist-composer David Virelles has taken the folkloric rhythms of Afro-Cuban religious ritual and transmuted them into a 21st-century music resonating with mystery and meaning.
The main title, ‘Mbókò’, can mean “fundament” or “sugar cane” or “The Voice,” not the human voice but The Voice that is believed in Abakuá culture to be the voice of a spirit, or spirits. Sound is an element revered in this culture, and that idea – the worship of sound itself – was a shaping force in the performances of Virelles’ compositions on ‘Mbókò’.

01. Wind Rose (Antrogofoko Mokoiren)
02. The Scribe (Tratado de Mpego)
03. Biankomeko
04. Antillais (A Quintin Bandera)
05. Aberinan y Aberisun
06. Seven, Through the Divination Horn
07. Stories Waiting to Be Told
08. Transmission
09. The Highest One
10. Efe (A Maria Teresa Vera)

David Virelles (piano)
Thomas Morgan, Robert Hurst (double bass)
Marcus Gilmore (drums)
Román Díaz (biankoméko)



Találatok: 0

Publication author

offline 16 óra


Comments: 396Publics: 1301Registration: 25-09-2017

Vélemény, hozzászólás?