Karmakanic – Dot (2016) © InsideOut Music • Digital


Karmakanic kicked off their career in 2002, and now, 14 years, four studio albums and two live albums later, they are back with their fifth full-length album, DOT.

The band’s founder, bassist Jonas Reingold says: “I got my inspiration to start writing DOT when I stumbled upon a text by the famous American author and astronomer Carl Sagan. He was talking about how small and insignificant we are in this vast universe.
Of course that can sound like a cliche and a lot of things have been said about our existence, universe, why are we here, where are we going, when will it end, when did it start, whats the purpose of it all? And so on. But he put it really elegantly in this rather short text, so I never looked at it as a cliche. The inspiration for him was actually a picture of the earth that Voyager 1 took 1990 from the outer areas of our solar system. The earth appeared in the picture as a small pixel, like a pale blue dot suspended in a sunbeam.”
Look again at that dot. That’s here. That’s home. That’s us. On it everyone you love, everyone you know, everyone you ever heard of, every human being who ever was, lived out their lives. The aggregate of our joy and suffering, thousands of confident religions, ideologies, and economic doctrines, every hunter and forager, every hero and coward, every creator and destroyer of civilization, every king and peasant, every young couple in love, every mother and father, hopeful child, inventor and explorer, every teacher of morals, every corrupt politician, every ‘superstar,’ every ‘supreme leader,’ every saint and sinner in the history of our species lived there–on a mote of dust suspended in a sunbeam.

01. Dot_God the Universe and Everything Else No One Really Cares About, Pt. I
02. Higher Ground
03. Steer by the Stars
04. Traveling Minds
05. God the Universe and Everything Else No One Really Cares About, Pt. II

Line-up / Musicians
– Göran Edman / Vocals
– Jonas Reingold / Bass
– Morgan Ågren / Drums
– Nils Erikson / Keys and Vocals
– Lalle Larsson / Keys
– Krister Jonsson / Guitars
Guest musician:
– Andy Tillison / Hammond organ (2,6)



Találatok: 25

Publication author

offline 6 óra


Avatar 235
Comments: 498Publics: 1343Registration: 25-09-2017

Szerző: dali300


Vélemény, hozzászólás?


öt × 2 =

Password generation