John Surman, Nelson Ayres, Rob Waring – Invisible Threads (2018) © ECM

Saxophonist and clarinetist John Surman is often characterized as a quintessentially English improviser and composer, and hints of folk music and a pastoral ambience are attributes of his music on well-loved albums like “The Road to Saint Ives” or “Saltash Bells.” Yet he also has a long history of working with musicians from other countries and cultures, players united by such invisible threads as a shared feeling for melody that transcends the idioms. John Surman met pianist Nelson Ayres – known to aficionados of Brazilian jazz for his work with Airto Moreira, Milton Nascimento and Banda Pau Brasil – while on tour in South America. In Oslo, Surman came to know and appreciate the playing of Rob Waring, expatriate US vibraphonist (recently heard on ECM with Mats Eilertsen). The three musicians come together to play a new programme of Surman originals – plus Nelson Ayres’s “Summer Song” – in a session recorded at Oslo’s Rainbow studio in July 2017, produced by Manfred Eicher.

01. At First Sight
02. Autumn Nocturne
03. Within the Clouds
04. Byndweed
05. On Still Waters
06. Another Reflection
07. The Admiral
08. Pitanga Pitomba
09. Summer Song
10. Concentric Circles
11. Stoke Damerel
12. Invisible Threads

John Surmansoprano and baritone saxophones, bass clarinet
Nelson Ayrespiano
Rob Waringvibraphone, marimba



Találatok: 32

Publication author

offline 6 óra


Avatar 197
Comments: 496Publics: 1328Registration: 25-09-2017

Szerző: dali300

Vélemény, hozzászólás?


19 − egy =

Password generation