The Dead South – Illusion & Doubt (2016) • Devil Duck Records

The Dead South have been described as outlaws and modern hillbillies, but the best way to describe the Regina-based band is fearless. They’re a rare musical commodity – a band that’s equally compelling on record as they are on stage. While The Dead South’s signature blend of bluegrass and classic folk is familiar, it’s also eminently fresh; fuelled by the kind of energy and ethic you’d associate with a punk band. “A lot of our inspiration comes from an old school feel, but our sound is an amalgamation of the we all like, and the punk influence is definitely there,” says vocalist/guitarist Nate Hilts. Since the release of their second record, Illusion & Doubt in late 2016, The Dead South have proven themselves a force to be reckoned with on both sides of the 49th parallel.

Illusion & Doubt recently hit Top 5 on the US Billboard Bluegrass chart and entered the top 30 on the US Country iTunes Chart. That’s fuelled interest in the band’s debut, Good Company, as well, which, though released in 2015, recently hit the Top 50 On Billboard and the Top 20 on US iTunes overall chart.

01. Boots
02. Every Man Needs a Chew
03. Deadman’s Isle
04. Smootchin’ in the Ditch
05. One Armed Man
06. The Good Lord
07. Delirium
08. Miss Mary
09. Time for Crawlin’
10. Massacre of El Kuroke
11. Hard Day
12. Gunslinger’s Glory

Nate Hilts – lead vocals, guitar, mandolin
Scott Pringle – guitar, mandolin, vocals
Danny Kenyon – cello, vocals
Eliza Mary Doyle – banjo
Erik Mehlsen – cello



Találatok: 29

Publication author

offline 3 nap


Comments: 334Publics: 1250Registration: 25-09-2017

Vélemény, hozzászólás?